For no better reason…

17 May

… than sheer capriccio, I decided today had to be dedicated to the infamous Antwerp Six.

The way they were, all badass

From left to right: Marina Yee, Dries Van Noten, Ann Demeulemeester, Walter Van Beirendonck, Dirk Bikkembergs, Dirk Van Saene. The guys rocked the 88 edition of the LFW, making fashion like there’s no tomorrow, and some of them still are quite the ass-kicking mavericks they once were.

Fugit irreparabile tempus

Now watch me as I arbitrarily single out those I find still alive:

Ann Demeulemeester. Taking goth up to real fashion, and it’s not even kitsch (it’s a miracle).

Patti Smith's league

She’s not that much into Spring and Summer stuff… fun and sun? I don’t think so.

As summery as it gets

But as I say, she does miracles. Like she takes a nurse’s pair of birkies (ie an abomination) and make them sexy.

Can you believe it? I can't.

Walter Van Beirendonck is so gay it hurts, but in a good way.

Papa Bear

He has a quite distinctive take on male aethetics, one I find refreshingly at odds with the mainstream.

The real guys

Dries Van Noten‘s face is not that interesting, and I’m not sure he lives up to the reputation of the six pack. Yet he’s good at fluid and effortless.

An acid drop on a restrained look

Like said: fluid and effortless

And this is precisely what you want to wear for a late afternoon smoke looking at the birds over the harbor.

2 Responses to “For no better reason…”

  1. Fran May 25, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Ann Demeulemeester and Dries van Noten — they speak to my heart. I did not know the other four, thanks for the discovery!

    • Miss Eliza Wharton May 26, 2011 at 8:07 am #

      Bikkembergs is also famous, but he does sporty stuff, mostly for men (I’m not very convinced, but it sells big time).The three others are clearly under the mainstream fashion radar.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

