What we listen to…

6 Feb

… is a typical Sunday morning treat. Sunday morning call for a special kind of music. It’s the only moment in the week genuinely free of work, or whatever hassles of modern life reminds me that, in its obscene cruelty, the world denies me the place I was born to be: the libertine sister Madame du Châtelet never had. We would have translated Newton together, and discussed the foolishness of men and the brilliance of the 1730’s fashion. Which was more than good, of course.

But I digress. Sunday morning music should always be witty and smooth, an ode to the coming of the day. I go for easy pleasure with a zest. One of the best place to find this (beside late Italian Renaissance — but that will be for another post) is contemporary female vocal jazz. The place is crowded with gifted musicians of fine taste and culture. But for wit, in the lyrics or in the piano phrasing, for sheer poetry, you’ll hardly find any better that Patricia Barber. She’s refined.

For those of you who have a hard time with the somewhat harmonically destructured intro, please give it a chance and listen to what comes after 2’40”.

So, it’s Sunday morning, and Barber’s Mythologies is already playing, there comes the time for an oolong tea, and I wonder: what should I wear? I want relaxed without being too casual, I want comfortably sexy and modern. And matinal, of course.

Morning Mules

From this up, I’ll need something fluid and appropriate for a tea and good music. I think this Bottega Veneta outfit would do well (obviously, without the black touches — make them grey).

Sexy? check. Comfy? check. Modern? check.

I’m all set. Bring in the Tie Guanyin.

And you? What do you wear for the morning tea?

5 Responses to “What we listen to…”

  1. aurumgirl February 7, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    Hey! I wore this outfit in the 80’s all the time (okay, 1986 to be precise), but often for Sunday brunch. I think my shoes were better, though. Those pale mint mules are gorgeous.

  2. Miss Eliza Wharton February 7, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    All right, the figure is not that modern I guess. But The transparency and the lingeriesque detailing is. I like the mules for they answer an incredibly tough call: being really feminine, having something interesting to tell, while being something you would wear at home, sipping tea and listening to some jazz.

    Hey girl, is that your blog: http://aurumgirl.wordpress.com/ ?
    I really like what you write there. The last post in particular. I find it absolutely fascinating that someone would dare to ask: what should I wear for a scan?
    It’s a deeply valid concern. Like, all right I’m ill. Must this end my aspiration to elegance or sexiness? Maybe you should have gone for “tights and some lizard shoes with a heel”. In case Clooney was in the building. You never know.

    • aurumgirl February 8, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      Yeah, that’s just me in denial: “Who says I’m sick? I am so damned Fine, people”. I wasn’t thinking of Clooney per se, but you’ve reminded me to ensure he’s hovering somewhere in my strategic planning at all times.

  3. Miss Eliza Wharton February 8, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Well, I certainly hope you’re doing well.
    And give this blog some fuel, I’d like to read how it goes. Donna di bastoni… Brilliant name!

    • aurumgirl February 8, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

      Thank you, Miss Eliza Wharton. I’ll keep checking in with you, too!

Leave a Reply

