Jaeger London’s designer…

19 Feb

… Stuart Stockdale has a keen eye for clean, precise and extremely smart cuts. Today’s show was in his comfort zone: either casual/sporty while very elegant, or very elegant but still eminently wearable. Take the second coat here and put it on the first outfit, and I guarantee that you’re set to stun. I’ll cross the campus any day of the fall semester in this.

Obviously, this is not fashion at its most exciting. And the experimental parts were often unconvincing (well, at least they failed to convince me (or maybe I should say I failed to be convinced)…). Nevertheless, there was grandeur in some pieces, and sometimes a cut is so impeccably beautiful that it is compelling.

Tell me what you think. Smart and/or boring?

7 Responses to “Jaeger London’s designer…”

  1. aurumgirl February 19, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Here’s what I think: if that long black coat with the over sized portrait lapel is indeed shearling, I will need to find a way to make it mine.

  2. Amber Tatnall February 20, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    The coat with the lapels and the matching/contrasting ankle boots are compelling. Not boring; subtly exciting and very, very smart. Thanks for the visual.

  3. Miss Eliza Wharton February 20, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Oh yes, I’m with you: this coat was for me the fashion peak of the show.
    I also love the work on the pockets.

  4. Madame Suggia February 20, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I was awaiting your take on this collection…I loved it, it’s a kinda Brit-girl take on Celine (which is of course, designed by Brit-girl Phoebe Philo). And that long black shearling coat? Yum yum yum.

    Bluff pockets, big shapely collars, mustard-y tones and a complete lack of buttons…hell yeah, this one is pushing all the right buttons for me.

    Look number 2 has ME written all over it; look #3 is p-e-r-f-e-c-t once you loose that ridiculously blah hat; and I see a version of that black leather/wool shirt-tail dress in my very near future-I’m feeling the love for a Florida-friendly version in white crinkled linen with a knit jersey bodice, worn with flat pewter gladiator sandals…mmm

  5. Miss Eliza Wharton February 20, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    I wouldn’t recommend the flat pewter gladiator sandal, or any flat shoe for that matter, except when you really really really have to walk rough surface.
    Why not, if I get your notion of a Florida interpretation, a nice little wedge espadrille like these Balenciaga?
    Ah yes. Because they cost an arm and a leg.

Leave a Reply

